K is for Kahlua

kahlua bottle as you probably know, is a coffee-flavored, rum-based liqueur from Mexico.

It is also the essential ingredient in a Dirty Birddirty bird

I was introduced to Dirty Birds in college. It would be several years before I learned that it is basically a White Russian.

Whatever. A rose by any other name, etc. etc. 😉

I rarely drink cocktails nowadays, but once in a while, at the end of a long week, I enjoy a Dirty Bird for dessert. 😉  It’s quick and easy.

Pour in glass over ice: 

1 oz Kahlua (or other coffee liqueur)

1 oz vodka

Milk

 Stir vigorously, sip slowly, enjoy!

If you have a cocktail shaker, use that and give it some good shakes before pouring into the drinking glass. If you order this at a bar or restaurant, it usually comes in an old-fashioned glass. I don’t think it matters.

Nowadays I use skim milk instead of regular milk (or cream) because the cocktail is enough of a splurge without all the added fat ;-D

3 thoughts on “K is for Kahlua

  1. I never had a dirty bird. But I think I am getting ready for one to steady my nerves. This keeping up with the electronic world is making my head spin. I need a drink. Gordon.

Leave a Reply

